Blazers’ King living football dream

DaVonte King woke up with his left leg amputated.

It was October 2007, and everything about the day he lost his leg remains foggy for the Northeastern Wisconsin Lutheran junior.

A few weeks before finding himself at Children’s Hospital in Milwaukee, King was a normal teenager doing normal things.

He was an eighth-grader at Edison Middle School, playing football for the Allouez Buccaneers and beginning preparations for another soccer season with the Green Bay Lightning.

That’s when the pain in his calf started. It was an intense feeling he never felt before, one that wouldn’t go away, and it eventually landed him in a hospital room a few hours from home.

Once there, he underwent several surgeries to stop blood clotting in his leg after getting a staph infection known as MRSA, a bacterial infection highly resistant to some antibiotics.

He also had compartment syndrome, a condition in which increased pressure within a muscle compartment causes a decrease in blood supply to muscles.

King was 13 and too young to comprehend what was happening. He didn’t know anything about compartment syndrome and still doesn’t.

The only thing that mattered was the infection had cost him a leg and changed his life forever, although even that took time to realize.

“I don’t remember looking at my leg and going, ‘It’s gone,'” King said. “I don’t remember anything.”

Well, he does remember some things.

“Every day in the hospital, I would say, ‘Why? Why did this have to happen to me?'” King said. “And then I would pray. Another day I would just be like, ‘God, why did you do this to me? Why? Why me?

“But I realized that it’s whatever. I have to live with it for my life. I can do most of the things other kids can do my age.”

That includes playing football. (Source: Green Bay Press Gazette)

Go to the source to read the rest of this inspirational story.  Anything can happen when you place your trust in God.

Powered by ScribeFire.

Enhanced by Zemanta

Share

